About the Author

I was born in Detroit, Michigan, in 1950 and grew up in the quagmire of the Michigan Foster Care System from birth. By the time I was eleven years old I had been in three institutions and eleven different foster homes. Finally I was sent to and graduated from, the famed “Father Flanagan’s Boys Home…better known as “Boys Town, Nebraska. I furthered my education at Midland Lutheran College. I have had a professional career in government, nonprofit, academia and private industry.

In 2003, I authored the poignant book of life through the eyes of a throw away child entitled: “Lost Son? A Bastard Child’s Journey of Hope, search, Discovery and Healing.” It was released in June, 2004.

I have also written/published over thirty articles of the need for child welfare reform and share my message of hope with groups across the USA.

I have addressed three World Conferences sharing my story and the need for reform.

I currently serve as Regional Manager North America for Orphan Awareness Foundation in conjunction with World Initiative for Orphans. Their 1st world conference was held in The Hague, Netherlands May 21-24, 2007 and well as their first World Orphans Month to be held during May 2007.

I recently stepped down as Executive Director of the Midland County Foster/Adoption Network…a local non profit…because of a move

I say, “Though I never received a university degree in social work, I don’t need one. I actualy earned a Doctorate having lived in and surviving the system for eighteen years. In living within the system I learned more than one will ever learn from a textbook or lectures.”

I currently resides in Fargo, North Dakota.

ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

Recipient of Presidential Volunteer Award from President Reagan in 1982.

Recipient of New York’s Eleanor Roosevelt Volunteer Award 1983.

Nominee for a White House Fellowship 1984.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

Founder & former Director of Helping Hands; a program providing respite to parents of children with disabilities.

Former Director CityMeals-on-Wheels Program; a NYC based foundation providing meals to the elderly on weekends and holidays where federal funds did not provide.

Volunteer for a variety of AIDS programs in different cities from 1980-1998.

If you wish to read some of my articles you may do so by going to:

http://www.larrya.us/credits.html

Working to help children around the world have a safe, nurturing, loving and stable home is the passion of my life…no child deserves less!!

One Response

  1. I just found the link to your blog. Thank you for writing.

Leave a Reply

