Overwhelmed by Response

Though I have responded to comments left on my blog entries until today I had not figured out how to use some aspects of this site.

I was overwhelmed when for the first time I saw the statistics of the viewership of my blog. I cannot believe in just six days that over 1000 people have viewed some portion of my blog.

I never thought my simple words would draw this type of audience.

I do much writing, as I have for several years, which has primarily served as a sort of therapy for me. I realized years ago that there were many issues and emotions from my past that I had buried deep within myself hopefully never to see the light of day again.

I thank those who have visited, commentd, posted links to my blog or have even personaly E mailed me with such gracious words. Your words have touched my heart!

I am heartened that by my sharing the pain as well as the joys of my past has in some small way proven helpful to others. To be able to help myself while at the same time be helpful to others is more than I could have hoped for when I began this blog six days ago.

I also see, not surprisingly, that most the traffic has been to entries talking about birth parents, search & reunions, etc. and to a lesser degree entries dealing with foster care.

I have belonged to numerous messageboards the past six years or so and have found activities amongst them show this same trend. There is far less activity on the issue of foster care. This is probably due to the fact that most former foster alumni would rather put their years in care behind them.

I am probably different than most foster youth in that I was entered into care upon the day of my birth and remained a part of the system for eighteen years. I never knew my birth family until I began searching for them at age thirty-two…thus, I can very much relate to the experience of many adoptees and birth parents as I have gone throgh many of their emotions and pain.

As I continue to write entries to this blog I will keep in mind that I am not only writing for myself but also and pray that my continued writings will prove beneficial for others. You have made my writings thus far worth the time and effort. 

Peace!

5 Responses

  1. I’m glad you are getting a good response and that people are interested in your story. When I was adding you to my blogroll just now, I had to think for a second whether or not to put you in the Adoptee Blogs section (and then I felt a little ill about being someone deciding “where to put” someone who had been in foster care, how nice, right?). But I think you are right, you fit very well into the adoptee experience, and I wonder if maybe the word “adoptee” is not encompassing enough to include all people who share a common experience of being cut off from their roots and have to go around with somewhat constructed identities.

    Anyhow, I’m just starting to read your blog (so many great adoption (and foster) blogs, so little time) and I really appreciate your insight and your perspective. Keep up the good work!

  2. Oh heck..I don’t know how to classify myself most the time either…hahaha

    This is why I include as many categories as possible for my entries…maybe I should add Search & Reunion as a category…this would include ALL who have been removed from their roots and are searching.

    Glad you haven’t walked away from your blog as you wrote a couple of days ago you were doing…your voice needs to be heard.

    Peace,
    Larry~

  3. Really glad you’re here – and so glad that you started this blog.
    Your writings are so very important.
    Thank you for sharing them.
    Biggest hugs,
    Poss. xxx

  4. Oh, haha, no I wasn’t going to walk away from my blog. Just forums. And I’ll probably go back to those, too, after taking a break for a while. But I need to blog, otherwise my brain will probably melt. But thanks for the encouragement!

  5. Perspective like yours and Lisa Dickson’s and Victoria Rowell’s at are incredibly valuable. It’s common that in discussions of how to fix foster care, the kids in foster care are spoken for by others who have not really been in their shoes. They are the ones whose voices need to be heard the loudest.

Leave a Reply

